Friday, July 12, 2013

The Rantings of a Mother Without a Child.....

I’ll tell you what….there’s nothing worse than working tirelessly for something great, just to get nothing in return. Unfortunately, this is the story of my life. Except for Patrick….I kissed a lot of frogs and finally it paid off with Patrick. But why in the hell would the universe allow a kind and caring couple go through an entire pregnancy just to have a stillborn 3 days before their scheduled C-section?? Mind you, I was absolutely terrified of pregnancy, giving birth, and the whole nine. I’m 32, gravida 1, para 0. It’s just not fair when I look around and see some of the absolute shittiest people with more than one beautiful child. That’s what’s messed up with the world…..the shitty people get to procreate, while good people like Patrick and I get to watch our firstborn die. I've never been this pissed off at the world, nature, the universe….forget god….if god was real, this kind of shit wouldn't happen. I have anxiety, a mother’s body, depression, a medicine cabinet full of new pills, and no child. I also have this crazy urge to mother like nothing I've ever felt in my life. I'm dying to mother some child. I even have dreams about it almost every night. I have dreams about little boys, babies, ones where my Samuel didn't die, ones where someone has given me a baby to take care of, ones where I find children that need a mother....you wouldn't believe it. It's pretty crazy. One of my very best friends told me the other day on the phone that I was the happiest person she had ever known. It’s so crazy because I never realized that I exude such happiness. Not right now though….definitely not now. Well…I guess I hide my sadness in front of people. I even hide it in front of my family. The only one that really witnesses it is my beloved husband. Oh my Patrick…I have no idea what I would ever do without him. He is definitely my life’s biggest prize. He is the greatest and sweetest, most wonderful person to grace my life. If it weren't for him, I just wouldn't be able to survive. And Patrick, my beloved, doesn't even get to have support because I am such a mess. This was not supposed to happen! The worst part….the WORST part is that I feel absolutely guilty. I feel guilty because everyone was expecting me to have a beautiful son and I didn't. I feel guilty because I feel like that if I just would've insisted on having the C-section on the Friday of my last appointment; I would've had a live birth. I feel guilty for being so worried that I was going to have a child with some sort of learning disability or autism. I should've been worried about not having a baby at all. I know, I know....woulda, coulda, shoulda....tell that to someone else. I fight those thoughts all the time but they somehow creep back in. Another absolutely terrible part is of this whole shitty experience is that I have to go back to work. Normally this wouldn't even be an issue but I was one of 7 girls pregnant in the office. Not to mention, 2 other girls were due the same week as I was. All of them had healthy beautiful babies. Every single one of them had beautiful healthy babies. It seriously shakes up my world to think that I am going back to that place where I will be around all of these great girls, that I made such good friends with, and not have a baby. There is no happy ending to this story. I've got 2.5 weeks until I have to go back to reality and function normally, and I am absolutely not ready. I certainly don’t think I’ll be ready in 2.5 weeks either. I guess you could say that the only good thing to come out of this whole ordeal is the great support from our wonderful and amazing friends we have. You know the old saying that you know who your true friends are when the shit hits the fan….well, I don’t know if that’s the actual saying but it’s something like that…..anyway, we realized that we have more friends than we thought. We really do. It’s pretty great just knowing that in itself. But that is it. That is the only good thing. The end.